Posted by: darien7743 | January 18, 2015

One Person Matters

In August 2013 I started this Blog and had about as much knowledge of blogging as a 2 year old. Fast forward to today and I’m about 2 1/2. But something happened over the past few days that put me back on this page……….One Person……………Emily K.

Never think that one person can’t make a difference. Emily, has.

Shortly after I began my attempt at blogging my world began to fall apart. I love to write but my passion was drawing and my eyes weren’t letting me see the detail I enjoyed putting on paper. I drew landscapes and I was having trouble getting things in perspective….Something had to give and I let writing go in favor of concentrating on my drawing……..Segue to November, 2014 when I finally had surgery to correct the problem. I knew that I would never draw again.  No more viewing life in the grey scale. If I wanted to create it would have to be full on, because that’s how I approach life,………and in Living Color.

Just before my surgery a funny thing happened…….I found that I loved painting abstracts….not realism as before………..Abstracts……Abstracts?………..and that Alcohol Ink, the most vivid form of color, was the medium that made me sing.

With Alcohol Ink, as a Fine Art medium, you have to have a willingness to let go of the end result. You point things in the right direction……….and then you let go…….or you “make mud.”………A term that is self explanatory……Most of my life, I have held on for dear life and much of what has happened turned into “mud”..

Once I let go and Simply Followed the Ink as it flowed out of my hands instead of insisting that it be a certain way………a second funny thing happened…..No Mud! Several beautiful pieces fell naturally into place……..with cooperation, appreciation, minimal interference. It worked. Trusting, that after I had done my part the Ink would do it’s……… result: synchronicity.

Over the course of a lifetime we all make a whole lot of mud. That is the direction the beliefs of our world force us. We over think. We force our ideas to fit into a mold they were never meant to deal with………We are eternally seeking the mythological, “They,” and trying into to be what “They,” say we should……..or, we are certain, We, will never, “Be Enough.”

Like everyone else, when I began something new, Alcohol Ink, I reverted right back into the conditioned thinking that made me loose my “Happy,” eons ago……Doing things according to what others said was “The Right Way.”…….Pleasing…….Pleasing, the “Them,” I see on Pinterest, Facebook, TV, Gossip Columns, “News,” Magazines,………Social Media. Fine Art Journals and Online Experts……..wasn’t working.

Some rules you just have to follow if you want to live well. Eat, sleep, dress, bathe, put a roof over your head. Pleasing isn’t on the list.  To be happy, we need to put into place what we learned in Kindergarten……Share, Play, Be Kind. Tell the Truth ……Communicate clearly……Cooperation can be important but not necessarily concession. There are choices…….You remember!…..But then, Life as we know it interferes. And the next thing you know,………..Life’s mud.

I think, we need to let go of opinions and the “shoulds,” and let life be life on it’s own terms. And just see what happens. I thought that I had gotten out of my way, like I had with the inks…….I had learned the lesson………..”Not quite so, McGee.”

16 days after my “Christmas,” replacement computer arrived from Amazon, it went hey wire ……..and life skidded sideways once again….or so I thought.

Amazon was no longer carrying this computer…….The self same computer, rated at the top of it’s class, that I bought in November and had to wait through 3 shipments to get on December 11th……Amazon would only offer me a refund………about $80 less than it cost through an outside seller……I decided to wait until I could see if the problems could be corrected elsewhere. I made a call that turned my life around……Synchronicity!……….and then Emma pushed “Follow.”

Someday I need to write about an ancient Chinese story called “Maybe so.” where a man tells his neighbors that things aren’t always what they appear to be. This computer issue was definitely a “Maybe so.”

My “Fixer,” had to stay with me for many hours while different procedures were corrected and there was lots of time while we waited for the different steps to finish………We tried sitting quietly on each end of the line……….It didn’t work. I became anxious that my phone had died or the connection had been broken when he was too quiet for too long……….We talked and soon the neutral topics turned to philosophy and life………In short order I was pointed back to basics. We spoke about the “They,” Who the hallelujah are the They?  Where do I find Them? And why………oh why, should I care what They think? We spoke about what was important to us, as individuals. We spoke about where to find all this. We spoke about what matters in this world verses what mattered in ours.

That was 2 weeks ago tomorrow. We’ve spoken, texted, and I’ve even learned the basics of Hangouts. I’ve met someone that thinks as I do and whom I can bounce ideas off of………

This lead to Emily……….Emily decided to Follow my outdated 2013 blog. I got an email about it. She read what I had written and was interested. I believed in what I had said. I had just discussed it with someone who belongs in Mensa………literally. And then, then came Emily……Right on Time. Synchronicity.

Emma K with a push of a button tickled a memory of the commitment I had made. I had started to write something earlier this month, but left as a draft. I had committed to writing again for New Years. Once again I had stopped. I finished it and published it just now.

My new friend fanned the spark 2 weeks ago……..Emily K. pushed “Follow.”…….

Chris told me to write for the internet………..Emily pressed Follow, which showed me where to begin……….again.

So, I decided to actually look at my blog and found that over 1,000 people had decided to view my page. One blog. 1,000 people thought that what I had to share might be of interest.

All because Emily pressed “Follow.”

So, once again I am Finding my Happy………My place and my value………..Maybe others will find it helpful. Maybe not. But it gives me back my voice and that makes me very Happy.

Thank you Emily…….You see, Emily,……..the unknown Emily, matters to me. And if you have read this, she matters to you.

One Person has added something to our lives. One Person Matters.

Leave a Reply

Categories

